Skip To Main Content

The 41st Annual Loughlin Class Reunion

The 41st Annual Loughlin Class Reunion

On Saturday, October 21, we hosted the 41st annual Loughlin class reunion! More than 200 in all were in attendance as we celebrated the 2023 Anniversary Classes: 1948, 1953, 1958, 1963, 1968, 1973, 1978, 1983, 1988, 1993, 1998, 2003, 2008, 2013, and 2018.

It was an exciting day of reconnection for all alumni, faculty, and friends present. Most alums had not returned to their alma mater in several years. It was the first look at the new courtyard for most guests.

Like most years, alumni reported that the school looked “much smaller” than they remember it. Some former classmates traded jabs – “Did you really run that fast in high school?” Current students listened in horror as alum told them about eating lunch while standing up. A few alums asked for a school tour, including a visit to the famous rooftop pool (the latter request was not granted, of course).

Congratulations to the Class of 1973 celebrating their Golden 50th Anniversary.

The Class of 1973 led the way as a $80,000 Class Gift check was presented (on behalf of all classes) to President Brother Dennis Cronin, FSC. The total grew past $100,000 as the evening progressed. Class gifts will continue to be accepted throughout the year for anniversary classes. Special gratitude for Edward McQuade ’73, who won the 50/50 raffle and donated the gift back to Loughlin.

Paul Abruzzo

Stephen Beal

John Belardo, MD

Brian Connolly

Paul DeCarlo

Kevin Foley

Joseph Grabowski

Louis Grassi

John Hubela

Edward McQuade

Donald Rivas

Thomas Robertazi

Patrick Sylvester


We want to give extra credit to the Class with the largest number of registered guests, which was the Class of 1983, with 31 registered! Special thanks to Celia Osborne for leading the Class! The Class of 1988 and 1963 ran neck, but the Class of 1988 finished in 2nd place with 26, and the Class of 1963 with 23 registered guests. Special thanks to Joe Collazo from the Class of 1988 and Paul Migliore from the Class of 1963.

Special recognition for our 1953 and 1948 alum who joined us – Brother David Carroll, Class of 1953, and Lawrence Helfrich, Class of 1948.

We would also like to recognize those who came a very long way to be with us on Saturday. More than a few ventured from Arkansas, Florida, Massachusetts, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Virginia, and other states. Special recognition goes to Joseph Grabowski, Class of 1973, who flew in from Texas; Paul Migliore, Class of 1963, from New Mexico; Joanna Smith, Class of 1983, and Jim Hanafin, Class of 1963, who traveled from California.

Several special guests, including a Loughlin great, Mr. Vincent Visco, joined us. Mr. Visco is a St. Augustine alum and taught at Loughlin from 1979 to 2015. Mr. Visco is now retired and living in Florida, and he just published his first book...Magic and Wonder and Selected Poems. Mr. Visco shared a few words with our guests.

We had other special guests, none more special than our own Brother Peter Bonventre or Brother Baldwin Peter to some. He may have been your principal, vice principal, or your guidance counselor. Our beloved Brother Peter just celebrated his 96th birthday two weeks ago!

Former dean and principal Jim Dorney, former Deans Nikki Freeman, Class of 1995, and John Flack attended. Also, our Hall of Fame coaches, Bob Leckie and Pat Quigley joined the reunion. We also had about twenty additional faculty and former faculty with us, including:

Robert Bero

Stephen Bennett

Akua Brabham

Dan Cronin, Class of 1962

Brother Dennis Cronin, FSC

Michael Foley

Edwin Gonzalez

Nora Griffin

Gerrad Herbert

Raymonde Jason

James Kassebaum

Fabiola Lamarque

Bro. Dennis Lee, FSC

Louis Maffei

Michael Peros

Thomas Petterson

Salvatore Principe

Terri Principe

Angela Proce

Gregory Rossicone

Catherine Shelley

Everett Wilson '91


Another special guest was Joshua Narain ’22, who spoke to attendees about the preparation he received at Loughlin. Joshua attends Hunter College and aspires to become a Pediatrician.

One reason the reunion is such a special day is that current Loughlin students are together with alums of all ages. Special thanks to student volunteers - Asaiah Agnew, Eva Archer, Kareem Bain, Nia Black, Christopher Charles, Terrence Hughes, Matthew Massenat, and Arron Saniford.

The outstanding Loughlin Advanced Band played for attendees, as did the Alumni Band. Advanced Band Director, the great Louis Maffei, led the Advanced Band and the Alumni Band. Program Director Everett Wilson, from the Class of 1991, was joined by the talented Kenny Pexton and Jaylen Granchamps, a graduate of 2016.

Alumni Band Members:

Louis Maffei

Jalen Grandchamps 2016

Carter Yusatake

Coby Briggs 2007

Everett J. Wilson 1991

Mark Payne 1980

Sean Berry

Ahmbria Garner 2015

Josephine McKenna ‘90